Loading... Please wait...

Updated: 2008 Summer Olympics Mens Basketball Qualifiers

Posted by

The next week will be an exciting and very important one for basketball players in many countries of the world.  That is because it is time to decide who the last 3 teams are that will participate in the Men’s Basketball tournament in the Beijing Olympics. 

The remaining teams that will be completing for sports over the next week at the FIBA World Olympic Qualifying Tournament for Men in Athens Greece are Cameroon, Cape Verde, Puerto Rico, Brazil, Canada, Lebanon, Korea, Greece, Germany, Croatia, Slovenia, and New Zealand.  The tournament will go as follows:

The teams are divided into 4 groups with 3 teams in each group.  Group A contains Brazil, Greece, and Lebanon.  Group B contains New Zealand, Cape Verde, and Germany.  Group C contains Slovenia, Korea, and Canada.  Group D contains Cameroon, Croatia, and Puerto Rico.  Each team will play both of the other teams in its group.  The winning team will be awarded 2 points while the losing team is awarded 1 point.  The top 2 teams in each group will then advance to a single elimination tournament.

The two teams that win the semifinals of the tournament advance to the Olympics.  The two teams that lose in the semifinals will play each other and the winner will fill the last spot in the Olympics. 

The three teams that advance in the qualifying tournament will join Angola, USA, Argentina, Iran, Russia, Lithuania, Australia, Spain, and China for the Mens Basketball tournament in the 2008 Olympics in Beijing.

Best of luck to all of the participating teams.  May the best teams advance.

!!UPDATE: The teams that advanced in the tournament are Greece, Croatia, and Germany.  !!

Wade Boden is the Artwork Director of Robbins Sports, an Online Vendor of Basketball Uniforms and Portable Scoreboards.